PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] [SOLVED] Dual booting

neba
September 17th, 2008, 08:37 AM
I can not seem to get Fedora 9 and Ubuntu 8.4 on my pc. I really want to have both on. Right now I can only get one or the other on. Please keep in mind that I'm a total noob at this. Right now I really just want to get rid of Linux, but I know that will be the biggest mistake I will make. haha. Please help me. I have no ideas left. Google is not much help. every thing they say is way over my head and they don't start from the beginning. I will appreciate any help. thank you

pluckypigeon
September 17th, 2008, 08:42 AM
when installing you need to create partitions with the partition editor.

eg:

These are only rough estimate guidelines

with a 61 GB HD

Linux swap maybe (1GB)

home (30GB)

Ubuntu(15GB)

then when you install Fedora

use the same home directory and use the remaining (15GB) for Fedora

I think that is what you are asking

manishtech
September 17th, 2008, 09:28 AM
Well, hope I was simple enough to tell you about the problems. If you can answer this post of mine, I can continue quite fast
http://ubuntuforums.org/showpost.php?p=5804374&postcount=5

just give us the output of the command

sudo fdisk -l

Without this we cant help you much, since we need to know about the partition layout

neba
September 17th, 2008, 09:56 AM
this is what it shows me, haha it really dont mean much to me. i really hope that you can make more sence out of it.

Disk /dev/sda: 100.0 GB, 100030242816 bytes
255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 12161 cylinders
Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes
Disk identifier: 0x4d384d37

Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System
/dev/sda1 * 1 11661 93666951 83 Linux
/dev/sda2 11662 12161 4016250 5 Extended
/dev/sda5 11662 12161 4016218+ 82 Linux swap / Solaris

thank you for taking your time to help me i really thankful.

neba
September 17th, 2008, 09:56 AM