PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Dell 1535N wireless trouble using WPA

quat
September 17th, 2008, 04:16 AM
Hello, I am new to Ubuntu, just got a Dell Studio 15N with 8.04 installed. I'm having fun so far, but I've run into a problem.

The wireless works fine as long as I set my router to "no encryption" or to WEP (64 bit, shared key, I haven't tried others). No problem, perfect connection.

The wireless adpter is a Broadcom BCM4310.

No love if I use WPA (which I know works since I have another laptop talking to it).

I am using the gnome nm applet. It sees my router, but when I connect and enter my passphrase I get only the lower of the two green dots, then it runs for awhile and gives up.

Thanks for any help!

superm1
September 17th, 2008, 06:20 AM
Hello, I am new to Ubuntu, just got a Dell Studio 15N with 8.04 installed. I'm having fun so far, but I've run into a problem.

The wireless works fine as long as I set my router to "no encryption" or to WEP (64 bit, shared key, I haven't tried others). No problem, perfect connection.

The wireless adpter is a Broadcom BCM4310.

No love if I use WPA (which I know works since I have another laptop talking to it).

I am using the gnome nm applet. It sees my router, but when I connect and enter my passphrase I get only the lower of the two green dots, then it runs for awhile and gives up.

Thanks for any help!
Have you done all of your apt updates? There was an issue with the network driver and this sounds fairly familiar.
By chance is it using TKIP? If so, can you change the network to AES?

quat
September 17th, 2008, 04:42 PM
Thanks for the reply!

I have updated everything. I still have the same problem: I enter my passphrase, lower green light on the nm applet icon lights, then a long period of thinking during which the "wireless" LED on the router blinks every second or so, then no connection.