PDA

View Full Version : Preparing for Black Friday and Ubuntu

SirSigma
September 17th, 2008, 02:16 AM
I'm planning to line up at Best Buy on Thanksgiving night so I can snag myself a new laptop when they open around 5 in the morning. When I get it, I plan to set a partition right off the bat so I can run Ubuntu straight from the C drive (as opposed to running it off my external hard drive on my current one right now).

So I ask if anybody can recommend a good laptop under 450 dollars for this?

Also, just because I'm kind of curious, post what you're running Ubuntu on right now.

cardinals_fan
September 17th, 2008, 02:20 AM
There's no way I'm going near my local Best Buy right now - PFDs (Permanent Fund Dividends) just came out up here in Alaska. This is our Black Friday. The stores will be mobbed ;)

freebeer
September 17th, 2008, 02:27 AM
What's a C drive? :)

SirSigma
September 17th, 2008, 02:33 AM

LOL I'm still new to Ubuntu. Excuse my language.

I meant I'd run Windows Vista and partition it from within, then install Ubuntu on its internal hard drive.

EDIT: I know what you're thinking. Yes, I don't like Windows Vista either. Unfortunately, I still need it to run Sony Vegas Pro 8.

Icehuck
September 17th, 2008, 05:20 AM
It's hard to say what a good laptop for $450 will be. They will have some crazy deals where $800 laptops go for $400. Just have to keep an eye out for the ads they are running.

jrusso2
September 17th, 2008, 06:35 AM
I'm planning to line up at Best Buy on Thanksgiving night so I can snag myself a new laptop when they open around 5 in the morning. When I get it, I plan to set a partition right off the bat so I can run Ubuntu straight from the C drive (as opposed to running it off my external hard drive on my current one right now).

So I ask if anybody can recommend a good laptop under 450 dollars for this?

Also, just because I'm kind of curious, post what you're running Ubuntu on right now.