PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Dual booting with fedora 9 and ubuntu 8.4

neba
September 16th, 2008, 09:00 PM
Hello.
I have a really big problem. It is that I'm a total noob at Linux. I don't even know if I'm posting this in the right place. I want to dual boot Ubuntu 8.4 with Fedora 9. I have been trying for several days now. It don't really matter what os should be installed first. I have nothing saved on my computer. I looked in google. Ever thing they talked about is in a hole new language. lol Right now I'm trying to install Ubuntu twice, then i will install Fedora over one of the ubuntu. I don't know if it will work. It is worth the shot. I would appreciate any help.

manishtech
September 16th, 2008, 09:13 PM
I want to dual boot Ubuntu 8.4 with Fedora 9. I have been trying for several days now. It don't really matter what os should be installed first
You are not installing Window and Linux, both are Linux distributions. I suggest you to install Fedora first and then Ubuntu.
Why? Just as it, Linux distros are quite intelligent, they wont screw up the other distributions.
Just take care that they are installed in different partitions but they can share swap.

If you have any problems, revert back soon.

Pumalite
September 16th, 2008, 09:15 PM
If you are not using Windows; clean and reformat your drive. Make an extended partition of the whole drive. Within that, make 2 logical partitions. Install Fedora in one first. Then install Ubuntu in the other last.

neba
September 17th, 2008, 02:36 AM