PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Multiboot Windows XP, Ubuntu & Suse Linux

Vikram K
September 15th, 2008, 12:23 PM
Hi,

I am totally new to Linux.
I want to install Windows XP Professional, Ubuntu 8.04 LTS & Suse Linux Enterprise 10 in my Laptop.

My Laptop's config are as follows: 320 GB HDD / Intel 2.2Ghz Dual Core / 2 GB RAM.

Please explain me how to Install all the three Operating Systems in my Laptop.

Which OS I should Install first?
How to partition the HDD to install all these Operating Systems?

Please let me know the step by step procedure.

Thanks in advance.

cdtech
September 15th, 2008, 12:31 PM
Your new to Linux? How did you hear about Ubuntu/Suse? Why would you want all that on your laptop? Do you have a lot of hair?

Elfy
September 15th, 2008, 12:39 PM
Personally I would install in this order - xp, suse then ubuntu - only, however because I'm not sure how suse deals with it's bootloader :)

When you install xp - it will iirc have a basic partition setup so you cna just allocate part of the 320Gb to it and leave the remainder of the disc as unallocated.

Download and then burn as an iso partedmagic - http://partedmagic.com/ - you can then boot with this once xp had been installed an updated.

USe it to do the rest of the partitioning - you will need 2 partitions to install suse and ubuntu, a swap partition and then use the remainder to use for data.

You will have to make an extended partition as you can only have 4 primary partitions on a hdd.

I would make 2 12Gb partitions for the installs, a 2Gb partition for swap and then the rest for the data

prshah
September 15th, 2008, 01:12 PM
I want to install Windows XP Professional, Ubuntu 8.04 LTS & Suse Linux Enterprise 10 in my Laptop.

Which OS I should Install first?
How to partition the HDD to install all these Operating Systems?

Please let me know the step by step procedure.