PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Open Office Problem

Archie69
September 14th, 2008, 09:57 PM
Hey Guy n Gals

I'm having an issue with Open Office. 1. For some strange reason the spell check doesn't work. IS there a fix for that? and 2. Upon completion of a document, I try to send it to others (I'm a student) who obviously use Windows or OSX and they can't open the ODT file. I then tried to change it to a .doc file, but the same problem for the receiving end.

Are there any fixes to these problems? Please Help

pyromanic123boom
September 14th, 2008, 10:01 PM
For the spell checker, you might possibly need a plugin or extension. Mine works fine and all I did was install OpenOffice from the terminal.

The file extension - don't just change the file to a .doc, when you save it in Open Office, make sure you select MS Word Document File from the file options. Then it will save into the .doc format.

C!oud
September 14th, 2008, 10:02 PM
Try not to post twice in two different sub forums mate. But as for your problem can you specify what exactly isn't working with spell check or is just all out refusing to start? As for sending a document it depends on what version Microsoft Office they are running since Microsoft office 2007 uses a different format than previous versions.

howefield
September 14th, 2008, 10:05 PM
Open /usr/share/myspell/dicts/DicOOo.sxw in writer, scroll down to your language, and follow the instructions.

As for the doc, there are a few different doc formats you can save in depending on the version of office your friends have, you need to save in one compatible with their version.

R_T_H
September 14th, 2008, 10:18 PM
Try not to post twice in two different sub forums mate. But as for your problem can you specify what exactly isn't working with spell check or is just all out refusing to start? As for sending a document it depends on what version Microsoft Office they are running since Microsoft office 2007 uses a different format than previous versions.