PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Hardy Upgrade Can't Dual Boot

Macrosystems
September 14th, 2008, 09:49 PM
First off, I apologize if this is the wrong section/forum/format.
I recently installed Ubuntu on my laptop. I was dual booting Windows XP and Gutsy Gibbon for a while, but decided to upgrade to Hardy Heron this morning. Everything seemed fine until I restarted and grub no long listed XP. I tried changing menu.lst, but when I try and boot XP it loads the stupid ThinkVantage Rescue and Recovery software. What to I do? I can still access the files from ubuntu but I cant boot windows.

In case it helps, the laptop is IBM Thinkpad T61p.

Thanks it

sjbaugh
September 14th, 2008, 11:59 PM
I am not an expert, but it may help to look at the partitions that are actually installed on your machine. You can get Gparted from the repositories or its website (use Google!). Gparted is a graphical utility but you need to start it from a terminal using sudo. If in doubt don't do it and BE VERY CAREFUL and don't change anything unless you know what you are doing as you could completely toast your system!

Steve

Sef
September 15th, 2008, 12:03 AM
Re: Hardy Upgrade Can't Dual Boot
I am not an expert, but it may help to look at the partitions that are actually installed on your machine. You can get Gparted from the repositories or its website (use Google!). Gparted is a graphical utility but you need to start it from a terminal using sudo. If in doubt don't do it and BE VERY CAREFUL and don't change anything unless you know what you are doing as you could completely toast your system!

Steve To look at your partitions do this, which is much safer:

Applications > Accessories > Terminal

paste or type in this code:

sudo fdisk -lsmall L; paste the results here.

Macrosystems
September 15th, 2008, 04:29 AM
Thanks Sef,