PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Exit Gnome, Drop Back to Console/Terminal

maw246
September 14th, 2008, 09:21 PM
I'm pretty new to Linux, but I'm eager to become proficient. I want to run Ubuntu WITHOUT always using the GUI (Gnome). For most tasks, I'll want to work inside Gnome, but when I logoff, I want to drop back to the terminal. When I boot my machine, I want to see a terminal, thus only launching Gnome when I choose to.

So far, I have configured my Ubuntu installation to boot to a terminal without a GUI by commenting out "/usr/sbin/gdm" from the "/etc/X11/default-display-manager" file. Then, when I type "sudo gdm", Gnome loads up and I have a nice desktop. This was half the battle. However, I cannot figure out how to drop back to that terminal when I'm finished in Gnome.

I've tried issuing the "sudo gdm stop" command from /etc/init.d directory, but that gives me X errors, tries to restart, etc.

1) Is my approach for the bootup correct?
2) How can I achieve my desired effect of landing back in the terminal when I'm finished with gnome?

Thanks.

benerivo
September 14th, 2008, 09:52 PM
Your bootup looks fine. It is exactly what i would have tried. To get back to just a terminal, i would log out from gnome. Then (whilst on the login screen) i would Ctrl+Alt+F1, and login in from the command line. Then sudo killall gdm. You should now only have a terminal session - and no gnome. This is probably not the quickest way. I'd imagine there's a single command that could be given from within gnome that could get you back to the 'initial boot up / login screen'.

Vivaldi Gloria
September 15th, 2008, 01:06 AM
I want to see a terminal, thus only launching Gnome when I choose to.

See my posts here:

http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=918077

maw246
September 16th, 2008, 02:20 PM