PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Dual boot installation problem (Vista Installed first)

love_gnu
September 12th, 2008, 05:58 PM
Hi Friends,

This is my first post to this forum. So i am not sure where to post problem regarding installation. At last I am posting here.

Yesterday I bought Sony vaio- SR90S, 32-bit, SATA drive, intel centrino 2(Vista loaded).But I am dying to install ubuntu on it. As I am really a newbie to linux I ve no idea how to handle this. Please need help.

I shrink the the original partion of Vista. So now almost 100Gb is absolute free with no partition.

I follwed the steps from this URL
http://apcmag.com/how_to_dualboot_vista_with_linux_vista_installed_f irst.htm?page=3

My problem is i m trying to install Ubuntu (8.04) with dual boot( vista installed first ). But It goes well at the time of boot up until selecting language , then after clicking install Ubuntu, then it process for some time the screen goes black/dark nothing happens after that . Also I checked the CD with the Ubuntu option [ to check the CD for defects] , it detects no error.

I tried Fedora-7 it goes well no problem in installation .
Also I tried with another Ubuntu Live CD it shows which I got from Ubuntu . it displays me the following error.

[!!]Detect and mount CD-ROM
No common CD-ROM drive was detected.

You may need to load additional CD-ROM drivers....

Please help me to get it work.

Regards,
Prady

ubuuntu9897
September 12th, 2008, 08:43 PM
must be missing cd rom drivers then:(

love_gnu
September 13th, 2008, 03:00 AM
must be missing cd rom drivers then:(

If CD ROM drive is missing then how does the first screen comes i.e, the the installation screen. And as I told no problem in installing Fedora-7.

Also I checked the Ubuntu CD with the inbuilt option it gives me no error. Only it hangs in the time of installation.

The live CD is of version 5.10 , I think its too old thats why its not detecting my dvd rom driver.