PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Boot questions

shepppard
September 11th, 2008, 09:10 PM
Hey Guys,

Not sure what you would call this or if it is possible but this is what I want to do.
I have 3 HDD in my System right now. What I want to do is Install Ubuntu on 1 and Win XP on the 2nd for gaming reasons... spore coming out and all... Now I love Ubuntu and using it as my primary os is great. This is for when I just need to brows the web and what not. And then use XP to game.
So here is what I want to do
Have to system always boot to Ubuntu without the stupid selection screen. Then from Ubuntu I can boot into Win XP. This configuration is exactly like what they do on the mac with boot camp.
I know I can run wine to get some stuff running but I play crysis and would rather just not bog down my system with all this stuff running.
So how would I manage to do this if it is possible. I'm pretty new at all this Linux stuff so bare with me.

Thanks

Scunge
September 11th, 2008, 09:40 PM
Ok, first of all, you don't need to have a separate HDD for each OS, this is what "partitions" are for - basically you split up your HDD into sections and you can install Windows on one and Ubuntu in another.

Second, if you don't want unnecessary overhead, then you don't want to boot into Ubuntu and then boot into Windows. Instead, you want to boot straight into Windows or Ubuntu (which does mean that if you are in Ubuntu and want to play a game in Windows, you need to reboot).

I wrote a long answer in this topic (http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=912040) for someone else who wanted to do a dual-boot with Windows and Ubuntu, and talks about partitioning all on one HDD. Also, contrary to the order you mentioned in your post, you should install Windows first, as I describe in that other thread. You can do it the other way, but it adds a big complication later, so it's easier to just do it the "right" way.