PDA

View Full Version : [kubuntu] [SOLVED] Proposed config - Studio 15 dual boot

AirWreck
September 11th, 2008, 08:36 PM
I'm a totally stoked Kubuntu nooB. Installed K'buntu Hardy for grins on Friday = haven't booted to WXP since Monday :guitar:

Unfortunately, I'm also long winded so I'll post my questions before ADD strikes ;) See waaay below for proposed Dell Studio 15 configs and "the story".

1) I'm down to 512mb RAM on my Inspiron with a failed DIMM = K'buntu gets kind of clunky with FF, TB and music going. I'm assuming that the new rig proposed below will more than handle my needs? It looks like power concerns are more orientated toward Vista than K'buntu. I think this is a good balance but am open to any suggestions or considerations I missed :)

2a) I'm scheming on partition options for an internal 320gb drive. What is a reasonable assumption for the Vista Home Premium C: partition, assuming off the shelf install and no personal data bloat? = How big is Vista and how much room does it actually need?

2b) It also sounds as if Vista comes off the shelf with a backup/recovery partition = reasonable assumption of partition size (no bloat)?

3) Given that I'm a nooB looking at a dual boot Vista system and frequent Kubuntu updates, what is the current thinking on whether to pull /home out to its own partition? I've tried to find all the related posts and it looks like it can be more about personal preference than anything. It also looks like the answer may have evolved in the last few years. I was all set in the dedicated /home partition camp until I saw a post that said that you might miss update features if you use old config files. I'm a KISS guy but am also thinking of bringing in ~30gb of personal data into /home. Maybe its best to keep my personal data separate and keep /home in the root, the same practice as I kept with My Documents and WXP? Six o' one...?

"The story"... :popcorn: