PDA

View Full Version : Automatic package backup - just wanted to share...

Orange_and_Green
September 10th, 2008, 10:44 AM
Good morning everybody.

I have been using Ubuntu for two years now and I couldn't be happier with it (^_^). I tend to experiment a lot and, especially in my very first newbie age, quite a few times I ended up ruining my installation and thus being forced to reinstall (by formatting the root partition).

I was growing tired of manually reinstalling all of my packages every time, so I developed a tiny program (that I called aptautosave) that automatically keeps a backup list of the packages installed on the system. So now, after a fresh reinstall, I just execute the autogenerated backup script and have my packages restored automatically.

I tried to make the usage as simple as possible: just by double-clicking the binary once, it self-installs and automatically generates backups. I provided a few advanced options too.

Browsing the forums, I have noticed that Mr./Ms. LaRoza has developed a much more complete System Restore program (http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=678665) (to which, quite frankly, mine does not seem to hold a candle...:KSExcellent job Mr./Ms.LaRoza, I will download your project from SourceForge and I am eager to try it. Kudos well in advance.)

Nevertheless, I would still like to share my solution with any fellow Ubuntu user who may have any interest in it or any use for it.

I hope it's OK if I just upload my code onto the forums (it's only a few kilobytes anyway), if anyone can in any way benefit from my work I'd be very happy.

Thank you for taking the time of reading this post, please have a nice day.

Please note that version 2.0 is the old, stable one; Version 3 adds new features and corrects a few minor bugs but is still in preliminary testing stage (hence alpha).

isparkes
September 10th, 2008, 07:33 PM
Just what I was looking for!!!

Kudos

Thanks

Orange_and_Green
September 11th, 2008, 09:05 AM