PDA

View Full Version : Hello!

Saxis
November 17th, 2005, 08:55 PM
Hello all!

After reading the article on Madpenguin about installing Ubuntu at work, I'm really looking forward to giving it a shot myself. I'm a Network Admin at a small agency, so there are several tools that just need to work. I'm on a Model 8355 Laptop built by XoticPC (http://www.xoticpc.com). It's an AMD 64 3000+ with lots of goodies, including: M10 ATI Radeon 9600 128MB, Synaptic Mouse, Via AC97 Audio, ENE CardReader, Intel Pro Wireless 2200BG, Via 10/100/1000 NIC, QSI DVD-RW...

I'm looking for good 64-bit support. I dual-booted 64-bit Fedora Core 4 and WinXP (not 64-bit XP) to test some things out and no support for 64-bit Flash-plugins was a huge downfall. I'm also concerned about getting some 32-bit ******* Apps working in Wine on 64-bit. I want it to work, and all on 64-bit. I know this is asking a lot right now, as applications need time to make their way into 64-bit computing. This is fine, as I'll be dual-booting and giving Ubuntu a test run whether everything works right away or not. I'm sure I'll have a few questions, as I'm not very Linux-literate yet. I've read some Ubuntu reviews, and now I have high expectations of it and this community. You all have received so much praise, I had to come see what all the fuss was about! So now that this lovely "ubuntu-5.10-install-amd64.iso is complete!" message popped up, I can quit rambling on and get to work!... :D

Hello to the community, and I'm sure I'll be visiting again soon!

Saxis

xequence
November 17th, 2005, 09:14 PM
Welcome =D I dont have much 64 bit knowledge, but I hope you can get it working.

Kuolio
November 17th, 2005, 09:23 PM
Hello and welcome!