PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Worried before continuing

gddeluca
September 9th, 2008, 10:55 PM
OK, total Ubuntu (and Linux) newbie here. I've searched a bit and couldn't find some words of comfort.

I'm planning on installing Ubuntu on an existing Vista system which has a single internal drive split into two main Windows partitions (C: and D:) and it has some free space which was the former recovery partition.

When I go through the Install and let it use the largest available free space it chugs ahead and just before doing the REAL work, it shows a display box summarizing what its going to do. But in there it shows MULTIPLE linux drives being formatted and is using the (to me anyway) cryptic linux names for the drives/partitions.

Why are multiple drives being formatted? I'm paranoid that it thinks its going to use my Windows C: and D: partitions and my Vista system will be blown away. I can restore it sure, but I don't need that kind of pain.

I assume its putting these multiple partitions into the ONE free area, but I'd like some warm fuzzy feelings before hitting the OK/Proceed/Whatever the button said. I can't remember now, but I don't think it mentioned the sizes of these partitions, if it had, I could have confirmed what space it was using.

Am I simply too paranoid? I can't believe it would do me in, but ......

George

Pumalite
September 9th, 2008, 11:18 PM
Make space for Ubuntu with the Vista partitioner first.
Format that 'free space' and later use in the installation, going 'Manual'
Backup everything before the installation of any new OS

zvacet
September 9th, 2008, 11:24 PM
Am I simply too paranoid?

No,but you are uncomfortable with steps you have to take.Read this (http://psychocats.s465.sureserver.com/ubuntu/installing) instructions and you will see that is not hard as it look.Good luck!

gddeluca
September 10th, 2008, 10:41 PM
Pumalite: I've already GOT free space on the drive unallocated to any partition. THAT's the space I want Ubuntu to use.