PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] help me get rid of ubuntu plz

Ldsjonboy
September 9th, 2008, 08:00 PM
I have a computer that a friend gave me but it has ubuntu on it, and it doesnt even work right and i have no experience with linux computers. It is a dell and it says it is designed for windows so i was going to put windows xp on there. so i dug around till i found my XP disk and i popped it in and then restarted computer. (now here is where im confused...) normally if i start any computer ive worked on with a windows disk in there it usually asks whether to start from the Cd drive or hard drive, but it didnt even give me the option. So i checked in the BIOS and made sure it was set to boot from the cd drive and it was. so i set it so it can ONLY boot from the cd and it just says "press F1 to retry boot or F2 for setup menu". so i am stuck right now with a computer that i cant use for anything better than a doorstop. PLZ HELP!!!

oilchangeguy
September 9th, 2008, 08:05 PM
I have a computer that a friend gave me but it has ubuntu on it, and it doesnt even work right and i have no experience with linux computers. It is a dell and it says it is designed for windows so i was going to put windows xp on there. so i dug around till i found my XP disk and i popped it in and then restarted computer. (now here is where im confused...) normally if i start any computer ive worked on with a windows disk in there it usually asks whether to start from the Cd drive or hard drive, but it didnt even give me the option. So i checked in the BIOS and made sure it was set to boot from the cd drive and it was. so i set it so it can ONLY boot from the cd and it just says "press F1 to retry boot or F2 for setup menu". so i am stuck right now with a computer that i cant use for anything better than a doorstop. PLZ HELP!!!

sounds like your windows cd may be damaged. try it in another computer.

Idefix82
September 9th, 2008, 08:11 PM