PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Dual Booting XP and Ubuntu on 2 drives [XP as master -- SATA and IDE I think]

ridsicle
September 9th, 2008, 05:32 PM
Hey guys I took a brief look around the forums and I couldn't find anything relating to my problem. So I thought I'd make this post to get some help :KS

Anyways, to the point:
I've recently decided I want to configure my installation of XP to dual boot along side Ubuntu. I'm only 14 so as you can probably guess, I've never done this before. I am however able to understand the computer tech language quite well since it's a skill that runs through the family, so you don't need to talk "Nub" language to me.

I want to make it so that I can boot into XP from my master and have Ubuntu on my slave. [I have 2 HDs]

I went ahead and booted into the Ubuntu installer and I got as far as the partition, I didn't understand how to configure the partitioner to install Ubuntu on to my 2nd HD, Leaving my primary XP HD untouched.

Thanks in advance to all who help! :)

Regards,
-Dale.

confused57
September 9th, 2008, 06:48 PM
It would actually be easier to install grub to the Ubuntu drive's mbr & boot Windows from grub...here's how I have a couple of my computers set up:
http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=179902&highlight=dualboot
The above method involves switching the Ubuntu drive to master and the Windows drive as slave...the method below, you would leave Windows as master & Ubuntu as slave, if your bios can boot first to the slave drive.