PDA

View Full Version : windows hostility

ralph4100
November 17th, 2005, 08:26 AM
Can someone explain to me why linux users express such adamant hostility towards windows? I mean, it's like a badge of pride. But windows is actually very user friendly compared with linux, which is why most people use it. I mean I've been using computers forever and programming for 5 or 6 years, professionally for 3 years (web programming) and linux isn't too easy for me. Windows is. Why the hate? I mean I know linux is better, but only for people who are really good with computers.

RawMustard
November 17th, 2005, 08:34 AM
Because computing in general would be 20 years more advanced than it is now, if it were not for the stifling of innovation brought about by a criminally convicted monopoly hell bent on controlling everything you do on a computer! Think about that for a minute and then see if you can understand why all the aggro exists?

BoyOfDestiny
November 17th, 2005, 08:34 AM
Can someone explain to me why linux users express such adamant hostility towards windows? I mean, it's like a badge of pride. But windows is actually very user friendly compared with linux, which is why most people use it. I mean I've been using computers forever and programming for 5 or 6 years, professionally for 3 years (web programming) and linux isn't too easy for me. Windows is. Why the hate? I mean I know linux is better, but only for people who are really good with computers.

Well I think you answered your own question.

UbunuAndrew
November 17th, 2005, 08:35 AM
Because Windows does everything bass-akwards. This is coming from a new linux user as well. I used to be a Windows Hippy. I preferred 2003, over LInux for servers. I preferred XP as a desktop. Then one day I woke up rolled over to hopefully see Windows laying next to me. Only thing is, it crapped the bed and left me hanging there. Thankfully I didn't 'store' anything too important inside of it.