PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Computer shuts down during installation...

Burlador
September 7th, 2008, 11:33 PM
Hello! I'm new to linux, and new to ubuntu. I'm experiencing some difficulties installing.

my laptop is running on an AMD Turion 64x2 processor, I have 2 gigs of ram and 160 gb harddrive.

I have downloaded and tried both the 64bit and the x86 iso. I have hash checked the iso's and checked the cd's in the boot/install menu.

I have also tried in safemode.

I have tried both installing and the live cd option.

The computer shuts down when the installprocess prompts for me to remoe the disc and press enter. As soon as I press enter the damned thing shuts down without a warning...

I have no idea what to do and I would sure apretiate some help.
Because I am tired of microsoft, and I am eager to make some change!

Burlador
September 8th, 2008, 11:40 AM
Well i've go some new info...

I tried again to install and I noticed that for a brief second a message flashed across the top left of the screen. directly after the kernel is loaded 100% and before the status line appears.it said:

[48.357816]PCI: BIOS BUG #81[49435000] FOUND

the numbers in the first brackets are different every time the rest stays the same.

I have no idea what this means, but it is the only error i get.

Just for information:

I run a AMD Turion(tm) 64 X2 mobile tehcnology TL52 processor with 1600 Mhz speed

HitachiHTS541616J9S - (PM) HDD

on an Acer Aspire 5103WLMi notebook

please help!

Sef
September 8th, 2008, 03:34 PM
What version of Ubuntu are you running? If you do not have Hardy, then upgrade to it, or read this page (http://www.fedoraforum.org/forum/showpost.php?p=901026&postcount=39) from Fedora.

Burlador
September 8th, 2008, 03:39 PM
Hello Again!

Writing from within Ubuntu this time! I Fixed It! :)

After I noticed the BIOS BUG error I downloaded the newest uprade for my bios via the laptops manufactors homepage and it fired right up!