PDA

View Full Version : OOP: whats the point of public and private?

codeking
September 6th, 2008, 10:03 PM
I've been doing OOP for a few years (C++ and PHP), but I have never gotten the point of public and private. Why does it make a difference?

StOoZ
September 6th, 2008, 10:06 PM
encapsulation.

you have a class , which has an internal , complex method (the private in this case) to calculate something , which you dont want the user to directly use it , but , you will call it from another method (the public in this case) that simplifies the usage of it... just one example.
also in inheritance , private methods are not inherited.

jimi_hendrix
September 6th, 2008, 10:09 PM
same thing goes with data types...and i find it helps with my organization

Reiger
September 6th, 2008, 10:12 PM
More specifically: if you want an external object to do raw manipulations without any safety check (for benefit or performance or coding convenience) you want public; but if you are shy of the possible consequences you want private.

Essentially this is why interfaces in the Java-speak always define public things (little point in promising something the user isn't allowed to use...) but also why virtually all data structures are thoroughly locked off from the outside world, leaving only authorized methods to 'question' the content.

issih
September 6th, 2008, 10:34 PM
The point as such is that you define the public methods as an interface to the functionality of a class, but can keep the actual implementation of those methods locked away in private internal methods, that way you can completely change the implementation of the code, to increase accuracy/speed/etc without any code which depend on the class in question being compromised in any way. In essence if you leave the public interfaces alone, you can't break the compatibility of the class with your codebase.

in essence it is a syntactical way of organising code for simpler reuseability, much like OO programming in its entirety.