PDA

View Full Version : random.org

jeffjanzen
November 17th, 2005, 12:27 AM
it is my understanding that whenever a user requests a random sequence of events, linux generates pseudo-random numbers using an algorithm. (please correct me if i'm wrong.)
i'm not a programmer, but my guess is that it should be fairly simple and worthwhile to throw out the algorithm that's deceiving us and program linux to download true random numbers from random.org instead, so that users get true random sequences when they ask for them.
please read some of the literature on random.org to prevent the embarrassment of posting an ignorant reply.

SSTwinrova
November 17th, 2005, 01:17 AM
Just to clarify, are you talking about the pregenerated files? If not, then you're assuming the computer has an active internet connection (while, even though probably more than half the time this would be true, could never be guaranteed to reach the 100% penetration mark that the offline "psuedo" generator provides).

UbuWu
November 17th, 2005, 01:54 AM
In almost all cases, those pseudo random numbers are good enough for the goal that needs to be achieved.

jeffjanzen
November 17th, 2005, 02:52 AM
"good enough"? the computer's hardware clock is "good enough" without daily ntp synchronization, but daily syncing is really the best way to go. i think random.org is the best way to go for random functions. it's just a little thing that could make linux better, the way i see it.
i should just learn the programming literature and rig it up myself, but i know nearly nothing of programming, and i'm afraid to break linux, because i like it so much and it's working pretty nicely for me now and i think some of you people that are reading this thread know enough to make this type of idea really fly in under an hour. (is that realistic at all?)
consider it an extra credit homework assignment. i don't want you guys to get bored...

gord
November 17th, 2005, 09:49 AM