PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Remote Desktop at Startup/Login Screen

speedgrind
September 6th, 2008, 10:03 AM
I am a newbie to Ubuntu but have installed Ubuntu Server after following some guides. I have done lots of search through the Forums and internet but still could not find a solution for my problem. I am trying to remote control my Ubuntu box at login screen where I could enter username and password and then login. This should be done all remotely. I have try X11VNC but this do not help. Anyone please show me a complete guide to do this.

veloce
September 8th, 2008, 11:40 AM
I am a newbie to Ubuntu but have installed Ubuntu Server after following some guides. I have done lots of search through the Forums and internet but still could not find a solution for my problem. I am trying to remote control my Ubuntu box at login screen where I could enter username and password and then login. This should be done all remotely. I have try X11VNC but this do not help. Anyone please show me a complete guide to do this.

It's not clear what you are actually trying to do but I don't think you'll find a complete guide for this.

What I think you are after is XDMCP. This is a standard feature of Ubuntu logins. You can select to login locally or to a remote machine.

slanbarn
September 8th, 2008, 01:17 PM
If it's the other way around you look for ie. logging in remotely to the ubuntu-box you need to allow XDMCP in GDM settings.

veloce
September 9th, 2008, 02:21 AM
Good point, what are you trying to log in *from*?

I assumed another Ubuntu box.

speedgrind
September 12th, 2008, 04:17 PM
Yes. I want to remote control the Ubuntu box right at the login screen. This mean, I will remotely send magic packet to wake up the Ubuntu box, then I will remote access the ubuntu box again and I will be able to control the screen with my mouse. The Ubuntu box has a graphical user interface installed.