PDA

View Full Version : Which is easier, Windows programming or Linux/Ubuntu

t-rev
September 5th, 2008, 11:21 PM
so im new to programming, im a junior in high school working with Microsoft Visual Basic. im very computer literate. and i was wondering if anyone knew which is easier to do, windows programming or programming for the linux enviroment?

LaRoza
September 5th, 2008, 11:23 PM
so im new to programming, im a junior in high school working with Microsoft Visual Basic. im very computer literate. and i was wondering if anyone knew which is easier to do, windows programming or programming for the linux enviroment?

If you are programming "for" a platform, it requires knowledge of that platform. If you are developing on a platform (like doing C on Linux/Windows) it is the same.

Programming in C, Python, Java, etc is the same on Linux as it is on Windows (free languages). VB is supported I believe by the mono project but I never used it.

t-rev
September 5th, 2008, 11:28 PM
so basically what your saying is since its a free language its all the same in the long run?

CptPicard
September 5th, 2008, 11:31 PM
The Linux environment is much more diverse... with choice comes some complexity, but in general in the long run, dedicated hackers are much happier with the free choice than enforced "ease".. :)

LaRoza
September 5th, 2008, 11:33 PM
so basically what your saying is since its a free language its all the same in the long run?

Well, in the short run.

In the long run, Linux would be easier because that is where the action is. You have the repositories and such and an unencumbered OS.

t-rev
September 5th, 2008, 11:49 PM
well im deffinatly going to look into all of this

not so much on the hacking part though.
haha

but thanks!

CptPicard
September 5th, 2008, 11:59 PM
not so much on the hacking part though.

You should really look at a proper definition of that much-abused and misunderstood word...

cmay
September 6th, 2008, 12:02 AM