PDA

View Full Version : Linux at the University of Washington

kspncr
September 5th, 2008, 08:16 PM
I'm an undergrad at the University of Washington. I just came from the Odegaard Undergraduate Library, which is the home of hundreds of computers. What did I see? Techs installing Linux on a fair number of computers there. gOS. Not my favorite distro, but not too bad. They're getting some done in time for Fall quarter, I assume.

I walked over because I almost couldn't believe it. I was just recently thinking how great it would be if they had Linux on some of the computers in Odegaard. I went over to get a closer look and one of the techs said "I'm sorry, these computers aren't ready to be used yet."
"That's cool, I just wanted to get a closer look."

I don't know exactly how many are going to run gOS because they're still working on it at the time of this posting (I'd estimate about 25 or so were being worked on). Before, about 85% of the computers (all Dells) ran Windows XP and the other 15% Mac OS (Tiger, I believe).

I don't know who made this decision, but I think it's great. The student body is like 35,000 here and that library is PACKED during school hours, just not so much during the summer. Thousands of people will have the chance to get a taste of Linux. Who knows, maybe some of the computers will have different Linux distros. All I know for sure right now is gOS.

I guess I never really looked into whether or not they'll help you if you run Linux. Turns out they do. (http://www.washington.edu/computing/linux/)

phrostbyte
September 6th, 2008, 01:46 AM
That's amazing considering the close proximity you are to the "evil empire" :)

cardinals_fan
September 6th, 2008, 02:35 AM
<offtopic>
I'm a sophomore in high school, and the University of Washington is on my [long] list of schools to consider. What is campus life like there? Are any programs particularly good/bad?
</offtopic>