PDA

View Full Version : ./configure not found after installing build essentials!

jason_65c02
November 16th, 2005, 07:05 AM
Noob here - LOVE breezy!!!

Can't compile one of my simple progs from source though... ](*,)

I've installed "build-essentials", which looks like it installed make. (from adept)
but ./configure gives "no such file or dir"

I know it's something simple... :D

Thanks a million for relief from MICROSOFT HELL! =D>

reedlaw
November 16th, 2005, 07:55 AM
What directory are you in when you run ./configure?
I assume you have done a tar -xvzf program.tgz and then cd program/ before you did ./configure?

jason_65c02
November 16th, 2005, 08:09 AM
I'm in the source dir for the program i'm trying to compile. (under my home/jason/ dir...)

lcg
November 16th, 2005, 09:45 AM
I'm in the source dir for the program i'm trying to compile. (under my home/jason/ dir...)
Maybe I'm asking the obvious here, but is there a configure script in that directory? And do you have execute permissions for that script?

A configure script comes with the software you are trying to build, not with the build-essentials.

HTH,
Lars

jason_65c02
November 16th, 2005, 12:13 PM
Thanks for asking "the obvious" - it's welcome. Although the answer is yes AFAIK - this is source I compiled successfully about 6 years ago on mandrake - God only knows how - and promptly abandoned due to business reasons. Now I'm reviving it.

I have the MAKEFILE and .C and .H files, and do (I think) have "execute" permissions for the .C script (do you really "execute" .C script???) the makefile/.c/.h are in a subdir of my home dir - so whatever permissions are set by defult install of Breezy...

UPDATE:
MY BAD: I DON'T HAVE A ./CONFIGURE (I forgot CONFIGURE was provided by some source progs - but not the one I'm trying to compile. The "INSTALL" doc that came with the source says:

$CD <src dir>
$MAKE
$SU MAKE INSTALL (i prob should do $SUDO MAKE INSTALL -- is this ok?)

and that's it.

****HOWEVER:*****