PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Display distorted during install

BlueTesla
September 1st, 2008, 06:08 PM
I am trying to install Ubuntu on my computer.

Initially everything is fine. I get the language selection, and then a list of options. I select either "Install" or "Try Ubuntu...", and then it loads normally. However, after it is done loading, my monitor displays an out of range error. I can press ctrl+alt+[+] to change the resolution, but all I get is a garbled mess. I can make out the colours and the mouse moving, but it is far too distorted to do anything.

I have tried using Safe Graphics mode to no avail, and everything I've found on Google seems to be used after installation.

I am new to Linux so this may be something simple I am overlooking.

Thanks for any help you can give :).

ATI 9600 AIW, AMD Athlon64 3200+, Asus K8V-X Motherboard, 1.5 Gigs RAM, 2 hard drives IDE.

overdrank
September 1st, 2008, 06:25 PM
I am trying to install Ubuntu on my computer.

Initially everything is fine. I get the language selection, and then a list of options. I select either "Install" or "Try Ubuntu...", and then it loads normally. However, after it is done loading, my monitor displays an out of range error. I can press ctrl+alt+[+] to change the resolution, but all I get is a garbled mess. I can make out the colours and the mouse moving, but it is far too distorted to do anything.

I have tried using Safe Graphics mode to no avail, and everything I've found on Google seems to be used after installation.

I am new to Linux so this may be something simple I am overlooking.

Thanks for any help you can give :).

ATI 9600 AIW, AMD Athlon64 3200+, Asus K8V-X Motherboard, 1.5 Gigs RAM, 2 hard drives IDE.

HI and welcome, I have the ATI 9600 with no issues, You may try and check the cd for errors and how fast did you burn the ISO? Also may do a checksum on the ISO
https://help.ubuntu.com/community/HowToMD5SUM

BlueTesla
September 1st, 2008, 06:47 PM
Thank you for your relpy.