PDA

View Full Version : [gnome] System menus are shown with square characters

n00bubunter
September 1st, 2008, 03:43 PM
Hi everyone, my name is Elias and i'm really new to ubuntu. Since last week i'm having this error that is driving me insane. I think it's due to a problem with gnome. Magically (I really don't think it has been magically) ubuntu desktop enviroment stopped showing normal fonts and begun showing squared characters. Firstly i thought it could be a language problem, i mean someone accidently changed the default language to chinese. So i tried to change language, something quiet impossible because i don't know what i'm selecting due to the square characters. So i selected a random language and ubuntu tried to download some packages and before ending it threw an error. Of course i don't know what error. Then i tried to go to the PC explorer and it threw error. Every system task i want to open it keeps on giving me errors. Luckyly if I open a terminal, although the GUI shows the square characters the command line looks ok. The same happens with firefox (if not I wouldn't be able to write this kilometric thread :-D). So that's why I assume it's a GUI problem and therefore a Gnome problem. I made an apt-get upgrade and when it finished downloading all the packages an error came out. I wanted to upgrade or reinstall Gnome and more problems came out:
1) I don't know how to do it
2) I don't want to break it more

So really I feel like i'm naked in the middle of the city while everyone is watching me saying Ha - Ha (with nelson's voice) not knowing where to go. I think the machine is screwd up and that i'm going to have to format it but I would like it to be the last option, there is a lot of information I cannot loose.

Thanks in advance to anyone who reads this boring thread

P.S.: Excuse me for my bad english, i'm from argentina :P

n00bubunter
September 1st, 2008, 03:49 PM