PDA

View Full Version : My first text game.

dodle
September 1st, 2008, 01:58 AM
Here is a little text game (very simple) that I have made. I could use a little constructive criticism. I'm sorry if the code is messy, I'm not very good with functions yet. Functions were always a weak spot for me in mathematics, and I guess it is the same for me in programming. You'll noticed that I defined some functions, but I never used them anywhere in the code.

Also at the end of the game the option is given to start over. Is there a way to do this without importing. Importing to restart doesn't seem like a good idea.
instructions = "To move press one of the following keys + 'enter':\nn (north), \
s (south), e (east), w (west)\nTo see your status type 'stats'.\
\n\nThe purpose of this game is to find and defeat the dragon.\n\
There are three locations on the map that will give you enhanced stats\n\
but, there are also three locations that will deplete your hp."

# Stats

# Player's Initial Health
hp = 30

# Dragon's Health
dhp = 100

# Equipment
equip1 = "none" #sword
equip2 = "none" #shield
equip3 = "none" #armor'

def user_name():
print name, surname

def user_name1():
print name

def user_name2():
print surname

name = raw_input("What is your first name?")
surname = raw_input("what is your last name?")

print
print 'Welcome', name, surname, 'to my game!'
print
print 'To see instructions type "inst"'
print
# Controls & Commands

x = 0
y = 0
n = "north"
s = "south"
e = "east"
w = "west"
spring = "none"

trap1 = "none"
trap2 = "none"
trap3 = "none"

# The Borders of the Map

while (x,y) != (-3,-1):
if x > 10:
x = x - 1
print
print "This is as far as you can go."
if x < -10:
x = x + 1
print
if y > 10:
y = y - 1
print
if y < -10:
y = y + 1
print

# Current Location
print
print "You are at", (x,y)

# Areas Where Equipment and Health Can Be Found

if equip2 == "none" and (x,y) == (9,-9):
equip2 = "shield"
print
print "You have acuired the shield!"