PDA

View Full Version : im a Python newb.. Stand-alone??

artheus
August 31st, 2008, 03:43 PM
Hey!
I'm a newb to Python, but I have been programming alot in Visual Studio, Flash(ActionScript), PHP and JavaScript earlier, so I'm not a newb in programming...

But my question is :

- In Ubuntu 8.04, I have installed Python IDLE. Can I through that compile my written programs to stand-alone programs? so that I can run them, not through IDLE, in Linux??

-Are there any good py-compilers for linux where you can compile to both Mac OSX and Windows, if needed??

Pre-Thanks ;),
Artheus

PS: I'm a little newb to linux too, so i don't even know if it is possible to make stand-alone executables for it (like in windows)

Yannick Le Saint kyncani
August 31st, 2008, 03:58 PM
You don't need to compile it, python programs are interpreted at run-time.

mssever
August 31st, 2008, 04:03 PM
In Python, you use whatever editor/IDE suits you, and your choice doesn't affect anyone else. Specifically, it doesn't affect compatibility in any way. You don't have to get everyone worshiping at the altar of a particular IDE.

fiddler616
August 31st, 2008, 04:12 PM
Eek, good question.
*subscribes*

nvteighen
August 31st, 2008, 04:13 PM
Python is "interpreted" (actually, it's not... but let's leave that for now), meaning that you pass the code to a program that reads it an executes it. In Ubuntu, you can use any text editor (any, but there are better and worse ones) like Gedit (which supports syntax highlighting), write your code, save it as a .py and then, open a Terminal and write:

python myfile.py

Voilą!, there you have it...

There are Python interpreters for Windows and MacOS (see http://www.python.org/) and they should work the same (or similarly) as in GNU/Linux.

By the way, if you used Visual Studio .NET languages, they aren't standalone, but they work more like Python or Java. Actually, there's no "absolute standalone" program except for operating systems :p

Wybiral