PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] newbie Q: Unable install ubuntu 8.0.4.1 server

aaarathibs
August 31st, 2008, 01:33 AM
Hello Everyone,

Thanks in advance. I am new to installing Linux.
I need a Ubuntu LAMP server running on my laptop and I have following setup, later i will tell about the issues i am facing.

1) Hardware:
HP Pavilion dv6500 laptop
CPU : Intel Core 2 Duo T7100 1.80 Ghz
RAM : 2GB ram

Software:
Windows Vista 32 bit OS.

I have installed Sun xv Virtual Box (Ver 1.6.4)
and has created a portion of 8GB hard disk and 512 MB RAM for the Ubuntu Linux OS.

I downloaded
ubuntu-8.04.1-server-i386.iso
and Installed.
Installation went perfect. But when i restarted, I got an error:

This kernel requires the following feature not present on the CPU : 0:6
unable to boot - please use a kernel appropriate your cpu

so I searched internet and saw some people having issues in Core 2 Duo CPU and they had suggested use the other image on the website
ubuntu-8.04.1-server-amd64

Now when try to boot from this CD, i get the following error :-(

"This Kernel requires an x86-64 cpu, but only detected an i686 cpu. unable to boot - please use a kernel appropriate your cpu"

So now i have tried both the images on the website. I was not able to figure out where to download the alternative platform CD

I even tried to see if there is anything in grub menu that will help.

But I am a newbie so no idea how to get a new kernel for my laptop. Hopefully some one will give me an iso image that work and everything needed in there.

Please Help.
Thanks
Arati

dsilvia
November 24th, 2008, 04:24 PM
Hello Everyone,

Thanks in advance. I am new to installing Linux.
I need a Ubuntu LAMP server running on my laptop and I have following setup, later i will tell about the issues i am facing.

1) Hardware:
HP Pavilion dv6500 laptop
CPU : Intel Core 2 Duo T7100 1.80 Ghz
RAM : 2GB ram

Software:
Windows Vista 32 bit OS.

I have installed Sun xv Virtual Box (Ver 1.6.4)