PDA

View Full Version : Recommendations on next language

emobrad
August 30th, 2008, 08:14 PM
So I've been programing in C++ for a few months, and I'm thinking I want to move to a different language. The thing is I don't have a clue what I should try. I wanna try something that isn't object oriented. Anybody have a recommendation on a good language to learn?

mike_g
August 30th, 2008, 08:16 PM
You could try python or you could try searching for threads like this; there are hundreds of them on this board.

CptPicard
August 30th, 2008, 08:48 PM
I wanna try something that isn't object oriented.

The subject of many a heated discussion... you're correct IMO to move away from object-orientation AND C++...

I guess the typical suggestion applies; try Python. It lets you use OO when you need it and want it, and also exposes you to some interesting new concepts and ways of doing things.

If you're adventurous and really serious about the non-oo aspect, take a look at Lisp or Haskell :) (Lisp is more practical and interesting because of the macro capability IMO)...

emobrad
August 30th, 2008, 09:50 PM
Yeah, I've taken a look at LISP, and the thing is I really don't wanna spend days or weeks learning Emacs for LISP. I also looked into Python about a month ago, but it never really caught onto me. I dunno why but I just didn't feel clean hacking it out lol.

Anybody have any experiance with Ruby?

LaRoza
August 30th, 2008, 09:54 PM
Check out my site and try the Language Selector. It is much more reliable than human opinions.

CptPicard
August 30th, 2008, 09:57 PM
Yeah, I've taken a look at LISP, and the thing is I really don't wanna spend days or weeks learning Emacs for LISP.

Well, you could try the cusp plugin for Eclipse... you do want a proper environment for it though.

I also looked into Python about a month ago, but it never really caught onto me. I dunno why but I just didn't feel clean hacking it out lol.

Just spend some time at it, you'll see why it is popular.