PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] ATI Radeon HD 3470 laptop brightness

Ivanho
August 30th, 2008, 05:58 AM
This is for Ubuntu 8.04

I'm a Linux noob, so please spare me :) I have a Sony Vaio VGN-FW190 with an ATI Radeon Mobility HD 3470 video card. It's not letting me change the brightness at all. I got the driver for the video card, and the resolution and everything else is fine (1600x900) but no brightness. If you can help that'd be awesome, and if more info is needed, I'll need instructions on how to get it.

Thanks!

pscaffardi
August 30th, 2008, 12:59 PM
I've a Sony VGN-FW11M with same ATI Radeon HD3400 video adapter, too.
I cannot change the LCD brightness from inside linux.

It seems thebrightness control is not supported by ACPI driver!

cat /proc/acpi/video/GFX0/DD01/brightness

prints:

<not supported>

Any help?

Ivanho
August 30th, 2008, 08:48 PM
uh oh! That's no good. I honestly can't stand my brightness on high all the time.

cloudlight
August 31st, 2008, 01:32 AM
This is for Ubuntu 8.04

I'm a Linux noob, so please spare me :) I have a Sony Vaio VGN-FW190 with an ATI Radeon Mobility HD 3470 video card. It's not letting me change the brightness at all. I got the driver for the video card, and the resolution and everything else is fine (1600x900) but no brightness. If you can help that'd be awesome, and if more info is needed, I'll need instructions on how to get it.

Thanks!

Hello Ivanho!
I am a complete newbie to Ubuntu, too. How on Earth did you manage to get the HD 3470 to work properly on your Sony? I have a Vaio VGN- FW140D and am almost pulling my hair out. Am currently working in standard 800x600 resolution, which is a nuisance. Could you instruct me how you installed the driver(s). Any help will be greatly and gratefully appreciated.
Thank you. Niclas.

Ivanho
August 31st, 2008, 02:13 AM