PDA

View Full Version : Lightweight distro for picture frame?

BetterSense
August 30th, 2008, 01:28 AM
I need a lightweight linux distribution for a picture frame. Its sole purpose in life will be to boot, and run the program feh to show a slideshow of the pictures on the flash drive or possibly from the internet.

Requirement: the program feh.

I would just use Ubuntu because that's what I'm familiar with, but I would have to buy a 4GB compact flash card even for Xubuntu because it requires 2.8GB. I would like to be able to install on a 1GB card, to save money.

I looked at DSL but by default it doesn't have apt-get, so I couldn't install feh. I'm a total linux noob, so I didn't know how else to install it.

LaRoza
August 30th, 2008, 01:32 AM
How about a minimal install of Debian?

BetterSense
August 30th, 2008, 01:40 AM
I don't know how to do that. Is there a 'minimal Debian install' cd? Cause I'm not smart. I only know how to install ubuntu from a live or alternate CD.

Twitch6000
August 30th, 2008, 01:43 AM
I don't know how to do that. Is there a 'minimal Debian install' cd? Cause I'm not smart. I only know how to install ubuntu from a live or alternate CD.

Yes there is a minimal install of Debian.
You get it on their site.I suggest version stable for what you will be using it for.

init1
August 30th, 2008, 03:36 AM
Linux for a picture frame? Seems overkill. I'd use FreeDOS. The only problem is that there aren't any good slideshow apps for DOS. There's lxpic, but you can't change the slideshow speed. There's jpgshow, but that only for jpegs. I've tried dozens of DOS picture viewers, but those are the only practical options. If those aren't suitable, I'd run Debian and feh.
http://www.freedos.org/
http://hplx.pgdn.de/
http://www.pictview.com/showjpg.htm

LaRoza
August 30th, 2008, 03:37 AM