PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Help! byond program

tercelkisor
August 29th, 2008, 05:28 AM
when i used windows i used to play this game thing called byond so i tried downloading it but i dont know what to do. i got everything and its unzipped but what do i do next. the readme file it comes with is complete garbage so i really need help.

cariboo
August 29th, 2008, 06:27 AM
from the readme.txt:

Installation procedure:

1. Unzip byond-linux.zip. (You probably already did this.)

2. Type 'make' and follow the instructions. Basically, you have the option
of installing here (for your personal use alone) or on the entire system.

That seems pretty simple to follow. Make sure you have build-essential installed:

sudo apt-get install build-essential

Jim

tercelkisor
August 29th, 2008, 01:12 PM
k im new to linux.. so when they say type make, do they mean in the terminal? cause i tried that and it says

No targets specified and no makefile found. Stop.

so i guess "make byond" and

No rule to make target `byond'. Stop.

Partyboi2
August 29th, 2008, 02:49 PM
Those errors are probably because you are not in the source directory. So if you downloaded it to your Desktop open a terminal and change to your Desktop directory

cd ~/Desktopthen extract the zip file with

unzip 426.996_byond_linux.zip*change 426.996_byond_linux.zip to correct name if you downloaded another version.
Then you have 2 options
1st option
If you want to install the program so that all users can use it (Easiest)
enter the newly created directory by typing

cd byondOnce in the byond directory type

sudo make install2nd option
If you are wanting to install just for you, you will need to move the byond folder to where ever you want to install it. So for example if you want to install it in your /home directory you will need to move the byond to your /home folder with

mv byond /home/username*Replace username with your username.
then change into the directory