PDA

View Full Version : Need senior design ideas

summersab
August 28th, 2008, 11:22 PM
Community,

I am a Senior Computer Science student at John Brown University in Siloam Springs, AR, USA. This semester, I am required to start my senior design project. This project is aimed at developing some piece of code from the gound-up and maintaining a development cycle (documentation, specs, etc). I am currently very interested in networking (though my experience is limited). I really want to do something related to networking with Linux either on the server or client side. I thought perhaps I could do something to imporve a facet of interfacing networks with Windows. I am not incredibly familliar with the ins-and-outs of Linux networking, but the goal is that I learn something from this project. The idea need not be original and it can be a modification to existing code (ie writing a plugin). One idea I had was writing a GUI for Samba. I wanted to know if any developers could point me in the right direction and give me some other ideas that the community has a need for.

Thank you for your input - it is MOST appreciated!

ByteJuggler
August 29th, 2008, 02:56 PM
Perhaps having a look at the existing Blueprints on Launchpad (https://blueprints.launchpad.net/?searchtext=samba) is an idea. Some blueprints have mentor's available to help get one going, it may be an idea to pursue the implementation of one of them with a mentor. Personally I would like your idea of improving SAMBA integration, I think this one (https://blueprints.launchpad.net/ubuntu/+spec/simplesamba)or this (https://blueprints.launchpad.net/ubuntu/+spec/easy-networking) would be nice enhancements.

finer recliner
August 29th, 2008, 03:05 PM