PDA

View Full Version : Windows Server 2003 v Windows Server 2008 v Linux

Kernel Sanders
August 27th, 2008, 10:00 PM
I'll be honest here and say that I have very little knowledge of the server market past my basic experience in managing my own Fedora run Virtual Server.

So, ignoring things like costs, which would you say is "better" from a user friendly and general usefullness point of view?

SunnyRabbiera
August 27th, 2008, 10:03 PM
Well I used to run windows server 2003 at work and it actually ran very well, but if you need to save on cost then linux is the way to go.
A debian server would be better then a redhat one, but a BSD can beat it out of the water if you are willing to learn BSD.

Dremora
August 27th, 2008, 10:04 PM
Double post, uggh

Dremora
August 27th, 2008, 10:06 PM
Windows Server 2008 would be my choice, if money was not an issue.

Unlike Vista, it doesn't suck....actually Microsoft's professional Windows products usually tend to be alright, but damn are they expensive! :P

Anyway, setting up a Windows server is dead simple, setting up a Linux server is a nightmare if you've never done it before, and unless you paid for a support contract (which usually costs $200 a year per CPU, or more), good luck with that!

I think most business uses Windows because the costs of hiring more IT people to deal with Linux, and the per CPU support costs pretty much negate most of the advantages of switching over.

SunnyRabbiera
August 27th, 2008, 10:08 PM
Windows Server 2008 would be my choice, if money was not an issue.

Unlike Vista, it doesn't suck....actually Microsoft's professional Windows products usually tend to be alright, but damn are they expensive! :P

Anyway, setting up a Windows server is dead simple, setting up a Linux server is a nightmare if you've never done it before, and unless you paid for a support contract (which usually costs $200 a year per CPU, or more), good luck with that!