PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Lost, wondered if I took a wrong turn???

freepims
August 26th, 2008, 08:20 PM
I am trying to install on an external drive or I am being lead to belive I already have the file on the external drive. If so how to get it to show up when I reboot. I am very new at this and hate to bother but I have run out of buttons to push.

Here's a screen shot of what things look like.
http://www.MyEasyPics.com/is.php?i=465968&img=help.gif

Sorry for being on the not so smart side but I would love to learn this systme and run it along with windows.

Thanks

coffeecat
August 26th, 2008, 08:54 PM
I'm a bit bewildered as to what you've already done, and what you're trying to do. Let's take the points one by one. I presume you're trying to install Ubuntu on an external drive and that you've downloaded the Ubuntu iso, correct? Which version of Ubuntu and which iso? You could post the iso filename - that will tell all.

I am trying to install on an external drive

Your screenshot shows that your external (E:) drive is formatted NTFS, which is a Microsoft filesystem. You can't boot Linux up from an NTFS filesystem on an external drive - well, not very easily. Can you provide a link to the method you are following? It's quite possible to install Ubuntu to an external drive and boot up from it, but it's not the usual way of doing it.

I am being lead to belive I already have the file on the external drive. If so how to get it to show up when I reboot.

Do you mean that you have the iso file on the external drive? What happens when you open a Windows explorer window for E:? What does it show?

You can't boot up from an iso file on a hard drive. The iso is meant to be burnt, as an image, to a CD. The CD is bootable. If you have the desktop iso, the CD can be run 'live', which means that you get a fully functional (but slow) Ubuntu OS and desktop running from the CD. You can also install Ubuntu to your internal drive with it.