PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Moving to new HDD

Turrat
August 26th, 2008, 05:36 PM
I've got a question about moving stuff to a new hard drive. A couple of years ago I got a WinXP Pro disk with a one-time use key free from the university I was at. I installed it and Ubuntu onto my machine, dual-booting from a single 20GB drive in three partitions (7.7 Ubuntu, 7.7 XP, the rest swap). I know from experience (college friends doing crazy overclocking tricks) that the Windows key is not valid for a repair install or anything; it was just for that one single installation use, and I can't get any more because I graduated and now have to pay my own money for Windows.

Recently I purchased and installed a 500GB drive. I'm wanting to put my Ubuntu install on a partition of the new drive, and resize WinXP to fill up the rest of the old 20GB one. The question here is, is what I'm trying to do possible? And if so, what steps would I need to take to make sure my data is safe?

mellowd
August 26th, 2008, 05:40 PM
In theory yes. First make a backup. (I'd image the entire 20GB disk onto the 500gb, plenty of space)

It then depends on how your disk is set up, is ubuntu on the first partition? You might be able to delete it completely, keeping the current MBR. You could then attempt to resize Windows.

This is why I said make a backup, you might need to try a few different things more than once

Turrat
August 26th, 2008, 05:56 PM
I think Ubuntu is on the second partition - Nautilus says my Windows installation is on sda1 and my Ubuntu install is on sda2.

When I make a backup, if I mess up would I be able to restore it and have Windows still work? I really don't want to spend $100+ just for a key to do a repair install, so I'm a little on edge about it. And what's a good app to use for making a disk image?

mellowd
August 26th, 2008, 06:12 PM
This is a free utility:

http://selfimage.excelcia.org/