PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] first try at system fixing

MarkX
August 26th, 2008, 12:16 PM
Is there some helpful soul to tell an absolute beginner how to manually run dpkg--configure-a' ? I am trying to use kino in hardy heron and have weird colours , failure to retrieve, want to uninsall and install but get above error message. Have reported that E:_cache->open() failedfix error, kino, hardy heron

Pumalite
August 26th, 2008, 12:50 PM
At the Terminal:
sudo dpkg --configure -a

manishtech
August 26th, 2008, 01:34 PM
If this doesnt work properly,or you still facing some problems then check out this link

http://www.linuxquestions.org/questions/ubuntu-63/dpkg-configure-a-error-361965/

It covers many many different types of errors which dpkg can throw :confused:

MarkX
August 26th, 2008, 04:47 PM
Thanks. but it's not so easy to teach an old dog new tricks; how do I get to the terminal? I appreciate that it's not easy for you clever people to fathom the depths of a beginners ignorance!

MarkX
August 26th, 2008, 06:55 PM
Dear manishtech,much appreciate your help from India, maybe better stick with first answer for a bit. Problem is that the real Mark X fixed up my computer on the condition that it was for Linux, I'm interested in video editing, Mark has gone on holiday, there is this error, and I myself don't know the first thing about computer programming!

Pumalite
August 26th, 2008, 07:15 PM
Applications>Accessories>Terminal:
sudo dpkg --configure -a
sudo apt-get -f install
sudo apt-get update
sudo apt-get dist-upgrade
(one at the time. Press 'Enter' after each one)

MarkX
August 27th, 2008, 08:41 PM