PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Trouble getting on a network



michael.693
August 26th, 2008, 09:39 AM
Hello, i recently installed ubuntu with help from you guys but im just wondering how to get it on the internet, i have a router. a d-link dir-300 and i do not know how to get ubuntu 8.04 onto the internet.

Please help




Michael.

jigsaws
August 26th, 2008, 10:43 AM
The easiest way is configure d-link for sharing connection with dhcp server. By default Ubuntu should connect to the dhcp server and get IP address (plus some parameters like default gateway) and it should works out of the box.

ilrudie
August 26th, 2008, 01:09 PM
I agree. Also its probably already setup for DHCP by default. Did you try just plugging it in and seeing if the connection comes up?

michael.693
August 27th, 2008, 07:37 AM
I agree. Also its probably already setup for DHCP by default. Did you try just plugging it in and seeing if the connection comes up?

Yes i did and nothing came up.

tim356
August 27th, 2008, 08:26 AM
can you run the following command from the terminal and paste the output here:

ifconfig

michael.693
August 27th, 2008, 09:51 AM
Ok ill do that and see what it says.

michael.693
August 27th, 2008, 10:19 AM
Ok i ran it and this is what it says -

lo link encap:local loopback
inet addr:127.0.0.1 Mask:255.0.0.0
inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:host
UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MTU:16436 Metric:1
RX packets:508 errors:0 dropped:0 Overruns:0 fram:0
TX packets:508 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
RX bytes:25400 (24.8 KB) TX bytes:254.00 (24.8 KB)


It was supposed to have the cable in it, right?

jigsaws
August 27th, 2008, 10:38 AM
The problem is that you system has no network card. If it's onboard device check if it is enabled in BIOS.

Then see in network manager (system/administration/networking) if any interfaces can be configured.

michael.693
August 27th, 2008, 10:43 AM
no network card?




what would it be called in the bios?

michael.693
August 27th, 2008, 11:07 AM
ALso jsut to add another point with the connection on the top panel it says connecion: lo

michael.693
August 27th, 2008, 11:11 AM
and when i go into it it says name: lo
Status: idle

Activity
Recieved: 502 packets (24.5 Kb)
Sent: 502 packets (24.5 kb)

jigsaws
August 27th, 2008, 11:18 AM
lo is loopback interface, it's a kind of local, virtual network card. But we need eth0 to connect the net.

Ok, first check your Network manager, then we will think about bios (but it can be called something like OnBoard LAN Adapter or something).

michael.693
August 27th, 2008, 11:25 AM
oh ok. so what do u want me to do?

jigsaws
August 27th, 2008, 11:27 AM
Run the system/administraction/networking and check if you can configure any "wire connection".

michael.693
August 27th, 2008, 11:30 AM
Its got a picture of a phone?
and then unlock when i click on it.

michael.693
August 27th, 2008, 11:30 AM
Its called point to point connection, underneath it says this network interface is not connected