PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Problem With Partitioning the Drive

caleb.gross
August 26th, 2008, 03:22 AM
When try to install Ubuntu from the LiveCD and I come to the window where it gives me the different options for partitioning, I am missing the first (easiest) option, leaving me only three remaining options. I am relatively new to partitioning hard drives, but otherwise I am pretty computer savvy so this has just got me stumped. Does anyone know what I'm talking about? Any help would be terrific ;)

sandysandy
August 26th, 2008, 03:24 AM
do u have windows also installed.

if yes, see these links on dual booting XP & Ubuntu

http://apcmag.com/how_to_dual_boot_windows_xp_and_linux_xp_installed _first.htm

https://help.ubuntu.com/community/WindowsDualBoot

http://users.bigpond.net.au/hermanzone/

regards

manishtech
August 26th, 2008, 07:29 AM
When try to install Ubuntu from the LiveCD and I come to the window where it gives me the different options for partitioning, I am missing the first (easiest) option, leaving me only three remaining options. I am relatively new to partitioning hard drives, but otherwise I am pretty computer savvy so this has just got me stumped. Does anyone know what I'm talking about? Any help would be terrific ;)
I personally suggest people to use Manual Partition, though it might be tough for a newcomes, still the dangers are minimized.

People ask me that its tough since everything has to be done manually. This is the thing what we want, we know what we are doing. :)

caleb.gross
August 28th, 2008, 02:53 AM
Thanks, you guys are awesome. Real quick though, I came across this..

Create a swap partition of at least your amount of RAM (if you don't know, 2000 MB is a good value).

What does this mean?

stevemid
August 28th, 2008, 03:21 AM