PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Newbie Troubles.

funky_claude
August 25th, 2008, 10:18 PM
Hello,

I'm new to Ubuntu, and Linux in general, and have been having some difficulties installing it on one of my machines, so of course I have a few newbie questions that I couldn't find answers for in the documentation section of the site or older forum posts. I'm used to Windows, so I thought I'd load Ubuntu on one of the extra machines that I have lying around to have a look at it.

I'm trying to do a fresh install with Ubuntu 8.04 (LTS), but I'm used to doing it the somewhat outdated 'Windows' way, what with deleting partitions and such. My machine currently has no OS installed and no partitions. When I boot the machine up off of the Ubuntu disk, I choose the 'Install Ubuntu' option, it starts up, which takes a few minutes, but then it goes to what looks like an empty desktop screen. On the empty desktop screen I have a cursor but no icons or anything and the only thing I'm able to do there is move the cursor around. What exactly am I doing wrong here that I'm just not seeing?

spiderbatdad
August 25th, 2008, 10:30 PM
Not sure what to make of that. You should see a cd icon, labeled "install." And you would click that icon to proceed with the installation. You should also see a top and bottom panel, showing menus, etc.
It seems like the cd image is corrupted. Did you check it for defects from the startup screen?

OutOfReach
August 25th, 2008, 10:32 PM
Hmm how much memory do you have on the machine you're trying to install on?

funky_claude
August 25th, 2008, 10:32 PM
Did you check it for defects from the startup screen?

Yes, I did that first thing after burning the disk and the test came out fine.

funky_claude
August 25th, 2008, 10:34 PM
Hmm how much memory do you have on the machine you're trying to install on?

Currently, I have a 256MB stick of SDRAM in there and also a 128MB stick.

coffeecat
August 25th, 2008, 10:35 PM