PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Thinking about doing a clean reinstall

finlost
August 25th, 2008, 06:43 AM
I have been running Hardy Heron for roughly two months. It was a new hardware build, so the install was a fresh install. I don't remember any issues from the install. I have installed all current updates when prompted to do so.

Lately, especially today, I am having a lot of lock ups. I must have rebooted ten times today (hold in the power button) due to lock ups.

It is difficult to say what the issue could be. I am very green to Linux/Ubuntu so I really don't know how to track down problems.

Generally, the lock ups have occurred in Firefox. I by far spend a majority of my time on Firefox on the Ubuntu box. If I am lucky, I can just kill Firefox and resume from there. More often than not, the entire box is locked up and I have to hold in the power button.

Compiz might also be a culprit. The reason for suspecting Compiz is due to it becoming disabled quite frequently. By disabled, the visual effects almost always switch back to "none". I toggle it back to "Custom" only later to find it back to "none".

Yesterday, I installed Deluge. Today was the first day of running it. I am not sure if Deluge contributed to my more than normal number of lock ups.

I also have Evolution running quite often. I don't suspect Evolution because it seems to function without issue.

One of my lock ups today occurred while running Deluge and RhythmBox. The MP3s RhythmBox was playing reside on an external USB HDD.

I am debating whether to uninstall and a reinstall of Compiz and possibly Firefox. I am also debating to start over with a fresh install of the entire operating system. I am also debating on just waiting for release 8.10 to do a fresh install.

Thoughts on my next move?

Sef
August 25th, 2008, 07:39 AM
1) I would turn off Compiz-fusion and see if the problems still occur or not.

2) What are your system specs?