PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Windows partition fends off Ubuntu...

Myros00
August 24th, 2008, 10:28 PM
Okay, awesome, title, you gotta admit that much :P

Anyway, yes, another noob here (hides behind his desktop). This is a rather strange problem, I've tried running a search, but I didn't quite find a problem similar to mine, so here it goes...

I run Ubuntu liveCD, I decided to install, now here's the tricky part, during the partition page, I was presented with my External Western Digital MyBook external drive (1 TB), that is, when the first option is selected on that page. :mad: Seeing that as strange, I rebooted to Windows, and since my External HD is FAT32, I decided that was the issue. I changed the FileSystem of my windows partition to FAT32, rebooted to Ubuntu Live, and this time, I unplugged my external HD.

However, this time around, I was given the option to partition my E DRIVE! Okay, seriously, this is simply infuriating. I selected the manual partitioning option, and I found that by clicking on Drives E and J, which are partitions on the same HDD, I could set a new size for the partition, however, I'm not allowed to do so with the Windows partiton (which is Drive C!)

A picture is worth a thousand words, so here it goes:
http://img185.imageshack.us/my.php?image=screenshotpy7.png
Basically, when clicking on the C drive, all I get in the edit partition option is: "Use as", "Format the partition", "Mount Point". "New partition size" isn't available.

I also have a few questions regarding a possible workaround for this issue (if it cannot be solved, I guess?). But due to being verbose as it is, I'll stop now :P

rossjman1
August 24th, 2008, 10:58 PM
I don't understand, can you please explain it without using the terms "C:\ drive". Can't you just install in the free space?

halitech
August 24th, 2008, 11:03 PM
are you looking to install to your entire hard drive?

coffeecat
August 24th, 2008, 11:06 PM