PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] I have lost all sound funtions in Ubuntu 8.04

Bryan P
August 23rd, 2008, 05:54 PM
I am rather new to Linux and installed Ubuntu a week ago and all was well untill a night ago. I was customizing my desktop and was trying to also change the sounds that play when the login screen appears. I tryed to change the sound that first sounds ,"the intro"of the login screen in home/user/shared/sound and was not able to add additional wav files. I noted that the permissions were owned by root and not user, so I looked for a way to become user. On the Ubuntu website I found a document explaining root permissions and how to install a launcher in the panel for drag and drop abilities. I the command I gave the launcher was, gksudo "gnome-open %u" and I then draged and droped the home/user/shared/sound folder to this launcher. I then asked for my password and I was then able to add the wav file of my choise. But this still did not work for the login sound play back. I gave up for the time being and moved on to other things. I then found that any application that out puts sound has lost that ability. The application opens fine but no sound. I have re-installed these applications which did not fix the problem.

Does any know what went wrong? and how to fix it? I can just reinstall Ubuntu but that would not be very sporting as the challenge is to fix the things I FUBAR and not just run from then.

Any help would be great.
BP.

cwsnyder
August 24th, 2008, 07:36 PM
It sounds like you moved your /home/user/shared/sound folder to the /home/user/desktop folder in a launcher, rather than copied the files to the launcher. You are probably going to have to recreate the folder. If you are using the GNOME desktop environment the terminal commands are:
sudo mkdir /home/user/shared/sound [use this if the folder is gone]
cp /home/user/desktop/folder_name /home/user/shared/sound
where folder_name is the name of the folder found in Places >> Desktop.