PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Having trouble with installation

pedro3005
August 23rd, 2008, 04:42 PM
I am a beginner in linux, and right now im using the live CD, so it proves that i burned my cd correctly. I tried to install and it went ok until it started talking about partitions and stuff, i let it the way it was chosen and hit ok it said Too Small Size or something like that. It's impossible because i got more than 160gb of free space, and 100 in a single partition. Anyone can help me solve this? thanks :)

Kevbert
August 23rd, 2008, 04:52 PM
Welcome to Ubuntu.
If you have already set up a partition for Ubuntu/Linux you need to delete it as the installer is probably trying to install in the free space at the end of the disk. Do you have another operating system, on one partition you wish to keep ? If the answer is yes then you need to delete the empty partition. How big is your memory (RAM) ? The swap partition should be twice the ram size.
What you need to do is to select manual partitioning. Delete the partition that is empty. Now select a new swap partition and make it twice the memory size. Then create a new partition with the remaining empty space formatted ext3 with a mount point of / Your install should be OK after that.
If you have any questions please ask.

pedro3005
August 23rd, 2008, 04:56 PM
yes i have windows xp installed on C: and i would not like that deleted, i also have another partition with data, also cannot be deleted, leaving me with two partitions, one with almost 32gb and another with 128gb....
those are both empty, should i delete them? and if yes, how to? sorry, but im kinda noob at linux :)

coffeecat
August 23rd, 2008, 05:19 PM
leaving me with two partitions, one with almost 32gb and another with 128gb....
those are both empty, should i delete them? and if yes, how to? sorry, but im kinda noob at linux :)