PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Ubuntu Server installation problem with mixed PATA and SATA driver

kikiriki
August 22nd, 2008, 11:48 PM
Hi,

this is my first post, I am a complete Linux beginner.

I am trying to build a home server using the following hardware:
- Asus motherboard with 690V chipset
- Athlon LE-1620 processor
- 1 GB RAM
- 40 GB PATA disk for the OS installation
- 3 SATA hard disks 750 GB for data in a RAID 5 configuration

I tried Ubuntu server and alternate editions versions 8.04 and 8.04.1 for x86 and also 64 bit versions. I could not find a way to install Ubuntu server and RAID.

All hard disks are clean; all partitions deleted using Ranish partition manager. I do not want to install anything complicated, no multi-boot or something similar.

The first attempt was to connect only PATA hard disk, install Ubuntu server and reconnect SATA drives and install RAID array. I manually created new partitions, set RAID autodetect; after formatting all SATA disks I installed mdadm. This didn’t work because mdadm could only start 2 out of 3 hard disks and could not create configuration files. I used this guide to create RAID http://bfish.xaedalus.net/?p=188

The second attempt was to connect all drives and use manual partitioning. Everything seemed to work fine; however, after rebooting GRUB reported error 17 and could not start operating system.

It seems that the error is related to the way installer and GRUB detects hard disks. I tried to modify menu.lst file and it is read only and impossible to modify.

The other interesting thing is that the small PATA drive is not recognized as /dev/hdx it becomes /dev/sdd when all drives are connected before installing.

I saw many threads about GRUB and mixed PATA and SATA hard disk problems; however it is always about dual-booting, multiple Linux or Windows systems. Nothing similar to this problem. I am trying to install Ubuntu server on a typical home server.

Thanks

spiderbatdad
August 23rd, 2008, 12:19 AM