PDA

View Full Version : Compiler warnings

PeterBBB
August 22nd, 2008, 06:58 PM
Building a source package, I am getting shed loads of warning messages, but no obvious bugs in the program. I don't like compiler warnings and would like to get rid of them. However, I am a noob with GCC and have no idea whether these are important, meaningless, or bugs in GCC.

One that is puzzling me especially is

warning: passing argument 2 of ‘R_MarkFragments’ from incompatible pointer type

The function parameter is defined as

const vec3_t axis[3]

where vec3_t is an array of 3 floats. Its a standard 3D graphics thing.

The [auto] variable passed to the function is defined as

vec3_t axis[3]

The function call is

R_MarkFragments (origin, axis, radius, .....

So the parameter and the variable used are both arrays of 3 lots of vec3_t, its correctly passed, and there are no explicit pointers here. What's causing the warning "incompatible pointer"? Can anyone help?

Playing around with the code, I notice that if I change the call to

(&origin, ....

I get the same warning on the first parameter.

If I change the function definition to remove the 'const', the warning goes away. But that is ridiculous! The const attribute is deliberate guard code here to ensure that the called function does not mess up the value for the calling routine that uses it later and expects it to be unchanged.

It gets worse. If I change the call to

axis[99]

which is an obvious bug because it is trying the pass the hundredth element of an array that has only three, the warning is unchanged! Whats going on here?

What I would really like to do, would be to get better warnings out of the compiler. When I get 'incompatibles', is there any option to get the compiler to state exactly what the types are considered to be?