PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Help Installing Ubuntu 8.04 - only works with install cd in drive

jrwdunham
August 22nd, 2008, 03:26 PM
Here's my problem. (I'm quite new to this stuff, so bear with me if I trip up the terminology.) I have downloaded, burned and installed Ubuntu 8.04 Hardy Heron (for 64-bit machines) on a computer with the following specs:

-AMD Athlon(tm) 64x2 Dual Core Processor 4200+
-Two hard drives: (1) PRIMARY IDE MASTER (200 GB), (2) FIRST SATA MASTER (320 GB)
–Memory: 2 GB

*** The problem is that the OS does only boots when the install cd is in the cd drive. ***

WITHOUT the install cd, GRUB offers me the following options:

-Ubuntu 7.10, kernel 2.6.22-14-generic
-Ubuntu 7.10, kernel 2.6.22-14-generic (recovery mode)
-Ubuntu 7.10, memtest86+
-Other operating systems:
-Ubuntu 7.10, kernel 2.6.22-14-generic (on /dev/hda1)
-Ubuntu 7.10, kernel 2.6.22-14-generic (recovery mode) (on /dev/hda1)
-Ubuntu 7.10, memtest86+ (on /dev/hda1)

When I select the first option (
Ubuntu 7.10, kernel 2.6.22-14-generic), I get
file not found and <RETURN> brings me back to the GRUB menu.

When I select the fifth option (
Ubuntu 7.10, kernel 2.6.22-14-generic (on /dev/hda1)), the screen reads
kernel alive ... and something appears that looks like the Ubuntu startup screen but it's all distorted. Then after a while I see a black screen that reads
BusyBox v1.1.3 (Debian 1:1.1.3-5ubuntu7) Built-in shell (ash) Enter 'help' for a list of built-in commands. (initramfs). This seems like another dead end to me.