PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] [SOLVED] Changing Order of OS Boot

katzkoll
August 22nd, 2008, 06:51 AM
I would like to change the order of the OS Boot program. When I installed Ubuntu, it gave it the priority (1st) location and I would like Windows to have that spot with Ubuntu second. This is only because I "have to use" Window because of specific programs that will not work under Wine.

How can I change or edit this program?

sakthi
August 22nd, 2008, 07:07 AM
Open the file: /boot/grub/menu.lst

Change the order by changing the number in the line "default". For example, if you have two options in the grub then it is numbered as 0 and 1. If Windows comes second then put 1 and above line looks as "default 1".

Hope that helps!

katzkoll
August 22nd, 2008, 07:11 AM
I am sorry, but I am a real novice. What is the "grub" and how do I find it and change it?

OutOfReach
August 22nd, 2008, 07:13 AM
GRUB is the bootloader where you choose the OS to boot to.

katzkoll
August 22nd, 2008, 07:16 AM
How do you "Open" the grub file? I am currently in Windows. Do I need to go to Ubuntu to open and change this file?

fmartinez
August 22nd, 2008, 07:23 AM
Here's a step by step:
1. Applications -> Accessories -> Terminal
2. Type the command below:

sudo gedit /boot/grub/menu.lst
3. You will prompted for the Admin(Root User) password. Usually it's your own password
4. A text application (gedit) will open up and display the contents of the menu.lst file with Root permissions allowing you to make the changes that sakthi recommended.

Hope this helps.

sakthi
August 22nd, 2008, 07:23 AM
Yes boot into Ubuntu, open that file with an editor of your choice and then make the changes and save it.

katzkoll
August 22nd, 2008, 07:53 AM
Thanks to everyone for your help. I was successful at changing the boot order. Now if I only did not have to use Windows!!!:)

fixinmaniac
August 22nd, 2008, 08:08 AM