PDA

View Full Version : How to make a cross-platform program to read the serial port?

roccivic
August 21st, 2008, 08:26 PM
Hi everyone,
I'm an electronics engineer, but I'm not new to software programming, I have previous experiences with bash scripts, assembly, HTML and javascript. And I have recently started learning C and I quite like this language.
I'd like to make a program that will read the serial port (RS-232) and that can be compiled for both linux and ******* (maybe even mac?).
My questions would be:
Is C a suitable language for making a program to read from the serial port,*say, 32 bits and then displaying them in a shell or DOS prompt every time these 32 bits are transmitted from the external device. And eventually I would like to implement a GUI, too.

Many thanks, Rouslan

Game_Ender
August 21st, 2008, 08:34 PM
No C is not really suitable language to do that in. I would use PySerial (http://pyserial.wiki.sourceforge.net/pySerial) for cross platform serial port usage and wxPython (http://www.wxpython.org/) for the GUI. I have used both in the past and they are good solid libraries.

LaRoza
August 21st, 2008, 08:36 PM
Is C a suitable language for making a program to read from the serial port,*say, 32 bits and then displaying them in a shell or DOS prompt every time these 32 bits are transmitted from the external device. And eventually I would like to implement a GUI, too.

Probably not, unless C has cross platform libraries for this (I know of none).

For this, you should use a language that is cross platform and runs on some sort of VM, like Java or Python. I see someone mentioned the libraries you could use, so Python would be an easy choice.

(Python is an easy language, so you should pick it up quickly)

dribeas
August 21st, 2008, 08:37 PM
Hi everyone,